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Ah, a brief reprieve from talking about spring major 
events to talk rules. Sometimes the most relaxing part of 
my day is scouring through years of old Advisor Columns 
written by Allen and Todd to find scenarios that I hadn’t 
really heard discussed or even thought about before. This 
is a kind of different approach than I’ve had in the past 
couple columns where I focused on rules we have beaten 
in the dirt with discussions over the years. 

Sometimes I wonder if there are better ways to deliver 
these interpretations to the masses. I would be lying if 
I said I didn’t get perplexed sometimes when I field a 
call from someone who informs me, I should share the 
interpretations to all, like how to score dogs treeing but 
not declared treed. You mean besides the rulebook that is 
printed and online, the advisor column that is printed and 
online, the podcast that is available on any platform you 
may use plus YouTube. If you really want to find it, you can. 
If you ever need help finding it, let me know. Sticked at the 
top of the forums I have a bit of a Table of Contents over 
the past 4ish years with each column I’ve shared and the 
links for each one. That may be a good place to bookmark 
on your computer or phone. 

Now let’s get to a couple interesting topics that Allen 
wrote about back in 2015. Hope you enjoy this one. 

Declared Treed on Previously Scored Tree then Left 
Tree

Q: I have a question regarding a hunt I participated in 
as a spectator. In a four-dog cast all dogs were scored on 
the same tree. The dogs were all recast from that tree, 
and they all treed on another tree approximately 30 yards 
from the first tree. That tree was circled. From there they 
were again recast in the same woods. 

Dog A went back and treed on the second tree and 
the handler, knowing his dog went back to the same tree, 
declared the dog struck and treed. It was obvious that it 
was the same tree they had just previously scored because 
we could see it from where we were standing. Dog A treed 
for approximately two minutes on said tree then left it 
and started treeing on the very first tree that had already 
been scored. The handler did not declare the dog treed 
on this tree. The judge minused the dog’s tree points for 
leaving the previously scored tree but then allowed the 
handler to handle the dog on the first previously scored 
tree and deleted his strike points. Did the judge score this 
situation correctly?  

A: Yes, the judge scored the situation correctly. There 
are a few things we need to keep in mind or know about 
declaring dogs struck and declaring dogs treed regardless 
of any previously scored trees being involved in your 
situation. Those are as follows: 
•	 A dog MUST be declared struck on or before the third 

bark after one minute of being released. There are no 
exceptions.  

•	 A dog that has been declared treed by the handler 
MUST stay where it was called at regardless. There 
are no exceptions. 

•	 Dogs may be handled at a previously scored tree 
without applying a three-minute clock so long as they 
are not declared treed. 

1.	 After the first minute of casting a dog, or dogs, that 
dog must be declared struck on or before the third 
bark. That is true even if a dog went back and started 
treeing on a tree that has obviously been previously 
scored. The dog may be barking every breath, but the 
handler is not required to declare it struck prior to the 
first minute. However, unless already handled the dog 
must be declared struck on or before the third bark 
after the minute is up. This is a key thing to keep in 
mind when it comes to declaring dogs struck after the 
first minute of a dog being turned loose. There simply 
are no exceptions. 

2.	 Anytime a dog is declared treed the dog must stay 
where it was called treed and stay for the duration 
of the three minutes (or until all dogs are declared) 
be it a previously scored treed, a hole in the ground 
or otherwise. Again, there are no exceptions to this. 
It’s an important thing for judges and handlers to 
be aware of. That was the case in the scenario given 
above. The dog was declared treed therefore he or 
she became subject to tree rules. When the dog left 
that first previously scored tree there was no option 
other than to minus the dogs’ tree points.

3.	 Handlers are not required to declare a dog treed that 
is treeing if the dog is obviously on a previously scored 
tree. Handlers should be allowed to go in and handle 
the dog. If the dog was declared struck you delete 
those strike points. If such a dog can be handled prior 
to one minute of having been turned loose, then the 
dog would have no strike points on the scorecard 
to delete. Again, the dog in question was scored 
correctly by the judge on this last previously scored 
tree because it was not declared treed. Now it has its 
strike points deleted.     

Strike Positions Available When Points are Split
Q: Recently I was the judge in a cast where a situation 

arose I had never had happen before. On the first turnout 
we split the strike points between all four dogs in the cast. 
Dogs A, B and C were declared treed. We scored the tree 
and cut them back to Dog D who was still trailing. The 
question is, what strike points are available to the first 
dog that is declared struck? Is it 50 or 25? As the judge I 
awarded all three dogs with 25 when they struck in with 
Dog D. 

A: When you split the strike points between four dogs, 
even though each dog was given 62½ points, all four 
positions are taken. Forget about the strike points of 62½. 
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Think of it as positions. All four positions were taken so 
the only position available would have been 25 for each 
dog that was recast to Dog D. Yes, you scored it correctly.

Dealing with Scorecard Question and a Lack of Time
Q: I have been hunting for a few years in UKC events 

and for the most part have really enjoyed myself. Scoring 
nite hunts is not an exact science and hunters are regularly 
called upon to make judgement calls. Most of the time 
things go smoothly, but on rare occasions a decision 
may be disputed. The coonhound rulebook is fairly clear 
as to resolving disagreements over scoring. However, I 
am unsure of the proper actions to take with regards to 
section 14 of the Rulebook. I am particularly interested in 
the phrase, “It may be scored with a question mark (?) and 
reviewed by the Master of Hounds/Hunt Director Panel.” 
The following example describes a scoring decision that is 
made that would have a significant effect on the cast and 
the rest of the evening:

A dog has 425+ and 300- and is leading the cast. The 
judge gives the dog 100- and puts it out of the hunt. The 
call is questioned but the cast votes to let the decision 
stand. The person who owns the dog receiving minus 
points, asks to have a question mark put on the card.

My main question is, when do we check with the 
Master of Hounds? This has not always been an easy 
question for me to answer and I would like your help. Here 
are just a few of the complications that I have witnessed 
at our hunts:
*	 In our part of the country, it is not unusual to take an 

hour to drive to the clubhouse. Then the questions 
take a minimum of half an hour to explain to the 
Master of Hounds. Then you still have to drive back 
to your hunting spots to finish the cast and still have 
time to make it back before deadline.

*	 In many instances the decision is based on a 
judgement call and the Master of Hounds has 
conflicting information from cast members to work 
with.

*	 Some handlers develop a pattern of questioning any 
call that is not in their favor. 

*	 These complications bring to mind the following 
questions: 

*	 Is there a point when a cast can vote to complete the 
hunt “as is” and leave all questions until the end of 
the night? Even if a dog may be wrongfully put out 
of the hunt?

*	 Is there any time that you might deem a person who 
questions a call to be “stirring up trouble?”

*	 Are there some decisions that a Master of Hounds 
should not overturn? I really would like to hear 
your thoughts for applying the rules and dealing 
with questions. Nite Hunt cast questions can be 
complicated and emotional issues. In my area, some 
judgement calls are debated for years. Do you have 
any “common sense” you can share?

A: I don’t know if you would consider the procedure 
for dealing with this situation common sense or not. It 
is basically a matter of knowing how UKC interprets the 
situation and what precedence has already been set for 
dealing with it when it comes up. There really is no way for 
well- intentioned competitors to know what to do without 
prior instruction from UKC. So, it is a great question that I 
would be happy to help you with. Let’s get with it.

Some UKC rule historians will remember back some 
30 years or so when the rule was amended to actually 
be less defining in addressing this situation. The old rule 
used to say if there was a question, score with a question 
mark and check with the Master of Hounds later. The way 
it was written, even the casts who were just around the 
corner from the clubhouse and could easily come back, get 
a question answered, and still have plenty of time to finish 
their hunt, were refusing to do so and pointing to the word 
“later” to back them up. The handler with a legitimate 
question, the answer to which depended on whether or 
not they continued in the event, was left high and dry. A 
change had to be made. 

The Rules Committee addressed the situation and 
felt that by dropping the word “later,” a cast would have 
the opportunity to address the situation immediately if 
it was feasible to do so. Because it gave the cast more 
options, UKC had to make an interpretation on when the 
cast should return to get a question answered. I’ll give you 
UKC’s interpretation then we will break it down and look 
at it. The interpretation is this: If the situation in question 
is one that will put a dog out of the hunt, or develops later 
into a situation that will put a dog out of the hunt and, if 
it is feasible for the cast to return to the clubhouse to get 
the questioned answered and still finish their hunt by the 
deadline, then the cast must make every effort to get the 
question answered by the Master of Hounds.

A situation that will put a dog out of the hunt is self-
explanatory. An example of a situation that would later 
develop into one that will put a dog out of the hunt would 
be where a dog is minused 100 points on the first drop and 
the situation is questioned. Later in the hunt, this same 
dog acquires enough additional minus points to put him 
out. At that point, if it is feasible, the first question should 
go back to the MOH to be resolved. We use the word 
feasible which is iffy at best when it comes to knowing 
how much time it is going to take to get everything done. 
UKC maintains that you need to be pretty darn confident 
that you can get everything done before it is worth the 
risk of nobody getting to finish the hunt. Keep one thing in 
mind, the Master of Hounds does not have the authority 
to extend the hunt deadline for a particular cast just 
because they came in to get a question answered. The 
advantage of an extended deadline is only afforded to 
those who get left alone in a cast and must return to the 
clubhouse to pick up a non-hunting Judge.

The answer to each of your specific questions is this. 
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A cast is in essence voting to leave the call “as is” if 
they decide that, time wise, it is not feasible to get the 
questioned answered. However, if there is time, the cast 
cannot vote to not go back for an answer. You need to be 
careful about considering the asking of a question stirring 
up trouble. Although, I would say that yes, if a person 
questioned literally every decision that was made, it could 
be considered stirring up trouble. You would have to be 
able to prove that an individual was intentionally trying to 
disrupt the cast. You asked if there were any decisions that 
the Master of Hounds should not overturn. I would say 
that the only question a Master of Hounds cannot overturn 
is one that was procedurally, not correctly questioned. In 
that case, the MOH has his hands tied. If the procedure to 
ask a question is followed correctly, then I can’t think of a 
situation where the Master of Hounds would not have the 
authority to overturn. We all know that some situations, 
depending on the Judge’s decision and that of the majority 
of the cast, may be next to impossible to overturn, but I 
don’t believe any are impossible. The Master of Hounds 
has the authority to go against the Judge and the majority 
of the cast but it doesn’t happen often and rightfully so.

And there you are, my thoughts and UKC’s 
interpretation on this subject. I hope I have been able to 
help!

ATTENTION!
The following person’s Nite Hunt Director and Nite Hunt Judging 

privileges have been suspended until the date listed.

Justin Crockett • Senatobia, MS • May 1, 2024
Andrew Ratliff • Winchester, KY • January 1, 2025

Cliff Monroe • Mooresboro, NC • Indefinitely
Chris Simmons • Cramerton, NC • Indefinitely

Violations to these privilges should be reported to the United 
Kennel Club. 
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