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At long last, April is here! I’ve had this month circled 
on my calendar ever since we pulled out of the hotel in 
Greencastle, Indiana last year on our way home from the 
first UKC Tournament of Champions. An incredible year 
of qualifying has led us to where we are today. We have 
1,336 dogs qualified with 5 cast wins or more in 2021. As 
of the day I’m writing this, I don’t have a final number for 
dogs entered in the regions, but they are coming in steady, 
and I fully expect us to surpass the 655 dogs that were 
entered last year. By the time you read this, the regions 
will either be about to happen or more than likely just 
passed. Who will be in line for some major pay days and 
the chance of being crowned the 2022 UKC Tournament of 
Champions Winner? Be sure to stay tuned to the 
ukcdogs.com website and the UKC social media pages to 
stay up to date on news and results!

All Dogs Treed and Handled
Q: I was on a cast at a major event recently and had a 

circumstance come up that I wanted some clarification on. 
We started out with a four-dog cast that dwindled down 
to three with one dog getting withdrawn. At one point, we 
had a split tree with Dog A split from Dogs B and C. We 
went and scored Dog A’s tree first. After scoring the tree, 
the handler elected to keep the dog on the leash to head 
to the next tree. 

While in route to Dog B and C’s tree, Dog C left the 
tree and started trailing toward us. Dog C was minused his 
tree points. He fell treed around 100 yards from where he 
originally was and was treed back in. While still in route 
to Dog B, that dog also left and went and covered Dog C 
on his new tree. The handler of Dog B wanted to tree in 
on Dog C’s tree, but it was determined that the tree was 
closed due to all dogs being treed and/or handled when 
Dog C was treed. The Master of Hounds upheld the call. 
Was this handled correctly?

A: This is a good question on a situation that isn’t very 
common. The Master of Hounds made the correct ruling, 
and you cited the correct reason in your question as well. 
Looking at Rule 11(a) you will see this sentence, dogs must 
hold the tree for three (3) minutes, unless all dogs in cast 
are declared treed, on leash, or hunting time has expired. 

In the situation described above, all dogs were declared 
treed and/or handled the moment Dog C is declared treed 
on the last tree, which in turn closes the tree. Therefore, 
when Dog B comes in and covers Dog C, the handler’s 
only option is to head in and see how the tree is scored. 
The thing to remember is that when all dogs in the cast 
are handled/declared treed, tree time becomes irrelevant. 
You just got to get those dogs handled. And while that is 
usually a benefit in a cast, this is an example of a time 
where it comes back to bite the handler. It’s one of those 

breaks that we talk about so often. 
Treeing But Not Declared Treed
I talk to a lot of people during the year about hunts 

they’ve been on and certain rule interpretations. One 
question that I get asked more often than any other is 
regarding dogs treeing but not declared treed. I put a lot 
of thought into an article that I wrote back in March 2020 
that I am going to revisit below. This is a good one to take 
a picture of or clip out to refer to later. Remember that 
this article is an extension of the Rulebook and having a 
topic like this handy can save a headache down the road. 

In the 2020 Official Coonhound Rulebook, you will find 
this under Rule 4(h). The rule reads, dogs treeing but not 
declared treed, when Judge arrives, will be assigned and 
minused 25 tree points on off game or slick tree. Dogs shut-
out* on strike on slick tree or off game will receive minus 
tree points only. Refer to Rule 6(f) for Champion Division 
casts and off game. 

This rule is largely unchanged from the previous running 
rules. The only slight change from the last edition is where 
a dog is found to be treeing but not declared treed and the 
tree is determined to be slick or off game (in a registered 
cast) is found, will now receive 25 tree points instead of 
next available tree points to be minused. This change 
comes from the newly implemented tree countdown, 
which would indicate that next available is always 25 
points in this situation. 

So, let’s get to the real root of the issue and address 
how to score a dog treeing but not declared treed, when 
the Judge arrives with a few different scenarios. 

Scenario 1: Dog A and Dog B are declared split treed 
in that order. After scoring Dog A’s tree, he is recast and 
covers Dog B’s tree, which was closed. When the Judge 
and cast arrive, Dog A is found to be at the tree, treeing 
but not declared treed. The coon is found, and Dog B is 
plussed. How do you score Dog A? A: In this situation, Dog 
A is shut out on strike so the strike points are deleted, and 
it would not receive 25 tree points to minus as a coon 
was seen. 

Scenario 2: Two dog cast, Dog A is struck for 100 
followed by Dog B for 75. Dog A is declared treed. When 
the Judge and cast arrive, Dog B is found to be at the tree, 
treeing but not declared treed. The coon is found, and Dog 
A is plussed. How do you score Dog B? A: In this situation, 
Dog B is on the hook for 75 strike points which will be 
minused per Rule 4(d) which reads, if dog declared treed; 
after three minutes has elapsed no additional dog can be 
declared treed at that particular tree. Dog(s) treeing but 
not declared treed when Judge arrives receives minus strike 
points if coon is seen. So, with the coon being seen, Dog B 
will NOT receive 25 tree points to be minused. 

Scenario 3: Dog A and Dog B are declared split treed 
in that order. After scoring Dog A’s tree, he is recast and 
covers Dog B’s tree, which was closed. When the Judge 
and cast arrive, Dog A is found to be at the tree, treeing 
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but not declared treed.  The tree is determined to be slick 
(or off game in registered cast), and Dog B is minused. How 
do you score Dog A? A: In this situation, Dog A is shut out 
on strike, so the strike points are deleted. With the tree 
being determined to be slick, Dog B would be assigned 25 
tree points and they would be minused. 

Scenario 4: Two dog cast, Dog A is struck for 100 
followed by Dog B for 75. Dog A is declared treed. When 
the Judge and cast arrive, Dog B is found to be at the tree, 
treeing but not declared treed. The tree is determined 
to be slick (or off game in registered cast), and Dog A is 
minused. How do you score Dog B? A: In this situation, 
Dog B is on the hook for 75 strike points which will be 
minused and with the tree being declared slick (or off 
game in registered cast), Dog B will receive 25 tree points 
to be minused. 

To avoid flooding this column with a ton of scenarios, 
I just want to point out a few more things that you 
should keep in mind when dealing with dogs treeing 
but not declared treed when the judge arrives. 1.) In a 
Champion Division cast, when off game is seen, the dog 
will be scratched if treeing but not declared when Judge 
arrives. 2.) If the tree is circled, strike points will be circled, 
nothing else. 3.) When dealing with dogs that arrive after 
the Judge has arrived, refer to Rule 5(b) which states, 
no dog to receive minus points for coming into tree after 
Judge arrives unless a coon is seen and the dogs treeing 
are awarded plus points. That means that in any other 
situation besides a coon being seen, the dog’s strike points 
will be circled. If a coon is seen, the dog’s strike points 
will be minused. This is for dogs coming into a tree after 
the Judge has arrived which is a completely different 

circumstance from a dog treeing but not declared treed 
when a Judge arrives, which we discussed above. 

Judge, Can You Hear Me?
A question I have been getting routinely is about Judges 

accepting strike and tree calls when they can’t hear the 
dog. I suppose this issue is becoming more common as 
folks are carrying more of the “deep and lonely” type 
dogs to hunts. A lot of issues in nite hunts boil down to 
having quality judges and this is no different. And a bit of 
common sense often comes in handy as well when making 
decisions in the field and behind the desk. 

If I am out judging a cast and a handler tries to tree their 
dog 1.6 miles through the country and I flat can’t hear the 
dog, there is no way I can take that call. The reason boils 
down to the simplest of reasons, I can’t judge what I can’t 
hear. Any judge accepting a call and then walking toward 
a dog he/she can’t hear, whether it be a strike or tree call, 
is opening themselves up for issues. Any judge accepting a 
call and immediately running the two-minute tree time, or 
eight-minute strike time is also opening themselves up for 
issues. When a handler attempts to strike or tree a hound 
that you can’t hear, as a judge, respectfully let them know 
that you can’t hear their dog and therefore can’t accept 
their call. It’s as straightforward as that. 
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Attention!
The following person’s Nite Hunt Director and Nite Hunt Judging 

privileges have been suspended until the date listed.
Darrel Barker  •  Rockford, IL
Scott Johnson  •  Monroe, WI

October 19, 2022
Violations to these privilges should be reported to the United Kennel Club.   
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