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COONHOUND ADVISOR

e are in the midst of the busy time of

competition season, and it seems like

things are going well, from just about
everything | hear. While I'm out on the circuit, | hear
a lot about rule interpretations and which ones are
being misunderstood. Recently, | have heard of lot
of discussions about interference. You won’t find a
section that references interference in the Rulebook.
There's Rule 7, which talks about timeouts and
instances that could prompt a timeout being called.
A lot of the scenarios you hear aren’t listed here, and
can sometimes be quite subjective for a judge or
official to rule on. | tend to use the phrase “bad break”
a lot—but, I've had them. And if you’ve been hunting
much time at all, you’ve had them too. Let’s take a
look at a few past columns where | found reference
to the buzz word of the month, interference.

Dog Placed in Box with Note

Question: | was on a four-dog cast, but this question
only involves one dog—The dog in question is struck in
about a half mile from the cast. The dog trails another
mile and a half and gets treed. The handler trees the dog,
and the cast members start walking towards the dog
treed. The cast is within half a mile of the dog, and she
quits treeing. The two minutes is applied, and the dog
is minused her tree points. The six minutes is applied,
and the time gets her on strike as well. The rest of the
dogs in the cast aren’t struck in, so the cast decides to
go back towards the trucks. When the cast gets to the
truck, the dog in question is in the dog box, the door is
shut, and we find a note in the front seat. Somebody who
knew this dog was hunting in the same area, led her out
of the woods, drove down the road and put her in the
truck. Should this dog have been minused, or can you call
interference?

Answer: Opinions on this subject vary from, “if thisisn’t
interference, | don’t know what is” to “it’s a bad break
and the dog should be minused!” First of all, interference
does not appear in the rulebook as an option to use in
your situation. Rule 7b says you may call time out if dogs
get with another group of dogs; there is no mention
of other hunters or other dogs getting too close to the
cast, so obviously time was not called. The two minutes
and then the six got the dog, so it was minused. It’s not
until you've gotten back to the truck that you've realized
something may have happened there. You even found a

14 0625 | CB

note on the seat!

Let’s assume the note said there was a coon in the
tree. Does this mean we should plus the tree? What if the
note said it was slick? Would you be willing to take minus
because that’s what the note said? I'd dare to bet not!
What if the dog actually did leave the tree, never made
another bark and was picked up on the road somewhere?
The note is nothing more than hearsay—The Judge was
not at the tree to see what really happened. The dog was
judged according to what she did. In this case she hushed,
the two minutes got her, and then the eight. We can’t go
back and change how we scored the dog after finding her
in the truck and reading the note. There are too many
things that may or may not have actually happened. Is it
a bad break? Yes, possibly—but | think most of us agree
things don’t always go the way we would like them to! It’s
like the game of golf: very frustrating at times. For me,
that’s pretty much all the time!

That article was reshared in 2012, but | did some
minor updates with rule numbers and current times.
Coincidentally, Allen wrote another article in 2021 that
mentioned the word interference. Let’s take a look at it:

Electric Fences

Question: Shouldn’t dogs' strike points be deleted for
interference after hitting an electric fence and coming
into the cast?

Answer: | have two problems with this... well, maybe
more than two. First of all, interference is not a reason
to call time out, and does not appear on the scorecard.
It has become a generic term for “we ought to be able
to call time out for this.” | have a hard time thinking that
any electric fence of the type used to contain livestock
could possibly be considered dangerous to a dog. But,
I’'m not an expert on voltage and amperage or anything
technical, for that matter. | do know this: If you write an
exception for the one case in a million where a dog gets
fried by the highest-tech hog burner on the market while
he’s standing in a creek, that we will open the door for
any dog that quits a track after bumping into a 20-year-
old rusty fence that has weeds choking it out.

My final comment would be this: Can you imagine the
excuses for not taking minus strike points if we were to
embrace the fact that it’s acceptable to circle points if a
dog gets popped by a hot wire fence?

Naturally, | end up running into a lot of topics that are
still widely discussed to this day when | deep-dive into
the archives. Let’s stay in 2012, shall we?

Strike Position Held Until Recast

Question: Dogs A, B and C are all declared struck and
treed in that order. Dog D is shut out. The tree is scored,
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and in the process of leading the dogs away from the tree
to be recast, dog D is declared struck and treed. Since the
tree had already been scored, does this open all strike
positions?

Answer: It is UKC’s position that strike points are never
considered open again under these circumstances until
those dogs coming out of a scoring situation have been
recast.

Let’s use an example to show how it would be
considered unfair if strike points were considered open

ATTENTION!

The following person’s Nite Hunt Director and Nite Hunt Judging
privileges have been suspended until the date listed.

Cliff Monroe e Mooresboro, NC e Indefinitely
Chris Simmons e Cramerton, NC e Indefinitely

Violations to these privileges should be reported
to the United Kennel Club.
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prior to releasing the dogs such as the question posted
above: Let’s say A, B and C are declared struck in that
order. C is declared treed first, followed by B, then A. A
coon is seen. Dog A’s score would be 150, Dog B 150, and
Dog C 175. Now, dog D is declared struck and treed just
like in the question/scenario described above. If first (or
all) strike positions would be open and dog D has a coon,
then his score would be 225+. Most would probably agree
it wouldn’t seem right that dog D ends up with the better
score, considering it took longer to strike and tree a coon.
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ukchuntingops.podbean.com

Don’t miss interviews with the Overall Bench Show, Overall Nite Hunt, and Top Ten Bench Show winners!
Winners of the Warm-Up Slams and Pro Slams are also covered!

Available on YouTube and wherever you get your podcasts!
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@youtube.com/ukcdogs
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