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It seems borderline insane that I am writing an article 
for November already. I feel like the year just got started. I 
guess the saying, “Time flies when you are having fun” rings 
true. This year has been a blast for me. It was my first full 
(non-covid) year since I was hired at UKC and even though 
some events were still hindered by Covid, most were back 
to normal. It was nice getting out and seeing everyone while 
attending a lot of events that I had on my bucket list for 
years. Rain, sleet, snow, high winds, or extreme heat, folks 
showed up with hounds in hand ready to catch up with old 
friends and compete against their peers. That is what it is 
all about. 

To Cut or Not to Cut?
Recently, during the Final Cast of the 2021 World 

Championship, a hound was scratched due to the fact that 
the handler cut the hound loose before the opportunity 
to cut the hound loose presented itself. Even with what 
is referred to as a no-leash lock rule, you must run an 
eight-minute clock on dogs that are struck in (or a two-
minute clock on dogs treed in), and a dog has to be heard 
opening for that hound to be recast. In this instance, the 
handler cut the dog loose before the eight was ran. There 
have been tireless debates all over the internet and social 
media regarding this issue and I feel like the Advisor Column 
is a good place to sort out some misinterpretations and 
misconceptions. 

The fact is, the Rulebook is very clear in stating that 
you must hear a dog to turn loose, if other dogs in the cast 
are struck or treed in. That is where we will start. The first 
sentence of Rule 11(d) states, After being scored, dog shall 
not be released until another dog struck in on track, or on 
tree, opens. The second sentence continues, If no other dog 
is declared struck, scored dog may be released immediately 
after scoring tree. Not much room for debate there. Pulling 
a dog off a scoring situation, the Judge and handler should 
get to a spot that is a reasonable distance from the scored 
tree and run an eight-minute clock to hear the struck dogs 
(or a two-minute clock for treed dogs) before the scored 
dog can be recast. 

Some of the discussion seems to come down to the fact 
that in Rule 11(d) it doesn’t specify what happens to the 
dog if it is cut loose before hearing a dog that is struck or 
treed in open. Additionally, there is the debate that since 
this offense isn’t listed with some other dog and handler 
related scratching offenses in Rule 6, that it is unclear what 
the repercussions should be. This is where the “Implied 
Scratch” rule comes into effect. 

Venture with me, if you will, to the very beginning of the 
Official Nite Hunt Honor Rules. There are some clarifications 
right there at the beginning before you even get to any 
numbered rules. I will include the first couple sentences 

below just in case you don’t have your Rulebook handy. It 
reads: In addition to the rules on the scorecard, the Official 
UKC Coonhound Rulebook and the most recent Coonhound 
Advisor columns in COONHOUND BLOODLINES and on 
the UKC website, contain additional rules, statements of 
policies and interpretations of UKC rules pertaining to the 
conducting of UKC events. All event activities, rules, policy 
applications and interpretations are subject to the final 
decision by UKC in its sole judgment and discretion. 

For those of you skimming, I will give you the shorthand 
version of the above, this Advisor column is used for giving 
official UKC interpretations of rules in the Rulebook. And it is 
in this Advisor column where you can find multiple articles 
over the past decade, dedicated to explaining the “Implied 
Scratch” rule. I will include one of Todd Kellam’s old articles 
about that rule below, but let’s finish this thought first. To 
sum up the article below with one well written sentence 
that Todd included in there, it says “The penalty for doing 
something that the rules specifically state cannot be done, 
in cases where the rules do not offer a different specific 
penalty, is to be scratched from the cast.”

This article isn’t the time or place for the he said/she 
said game. As a matter of fact, that is a game that should 
be played less than it is, but I digress. For the sake of 
transparency, I will let it be known that UKC supports the 
ruling made by the Panel of Field Reps that were working 
the World Championship for scratching the dog in question. 
The correct call was made by the Rulebook. 

I know there will be personal feelings about this. Believe 
me, there are rules that even I don’t agree with, but it is 
the job of event officials and UKC to uphold the rules in the 
Rulebook at our events. It doesn’t matter whether a dog 
has a lead, if the dog is in the hole, or if the cast is all tied 
up. Furthermore, in a cast that is being live streamed with 
a couple thousand eyes watching it, there is more to be 
considered than the “no harm, no foul” premise that I see 
a lot of folks alluding to. This call had MAJOR implications 
for UKC. If we ignore a blatant rule infraction on this stage, 
what does it say about our ability to police the rules? We 
have a responsibility to conduct ourselves and our events 
with the upmost integrity and any overlooking of a rule, 
especially in the biggest cast of the year, would be a major 
blemish to our integrity. 

I hope this helps those of you who may not have 
understood the ruling, understand it a little better now. 
United Kennel Club, the hunters/supporters of this 
registry, and the Coonhound World Championship are 
very important to both Allen and I, and if the Panel of Reps 
needed any help with the call, we were readily available to 
help in any way possible. It wasn’t needed in this instance. 
The right call was made. 

Here is an article that has been in the Advisor multiple 
times over the years, written by Todd and reposted by Allen 
multiple times over the years. Some of it has been edited 
to match our current rules. 
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The Implied Scratch
True or False: There are things that you can be scratched 

for during a UKC licensed Nite Hunt which do not appear 
in Rule 6 (The Scratch Rule). Think about it. What is the 
penalty for doing something that the rules plainly state 
cannot be done?

Answer: If you answered yes, you can scratch a dog 
for violations other than those specifically listed in Rule 6, 
then you are correct and you can skip to the next topic. 
For those of you who answered false, and I know there are 
some because of the calls we have received, then read on 
and I’ll bring you up to speed regarding UKC’s interpretation 
of the implied scratch.

Basically, anything the rules specifically say you can’t do, 
you can be scratched for doing. 

There are many examples of things that various rules 
tell you cannot be done. Some (not all) examples of rule 
violations that will get you scratched, even though they 
don’t appear in Rule 6, are listed below:

•	 Arriving at a tree before the Judge.
•	 Failure to leash dogs at the tree.
•	 Shining the tree during the two minutes the handler 

with first tree wished to shine alone.
•	 Refusing to vote on a question.
•	 Casting a hound before hearing a struck/treed dog 

bark.

There are situations where the rules tell you what to do 
other than scratching the dog, if you violate that particular 
rule. For example, Rule2(d) reads, A handler calling the 
wrong dog on first offense results in a warning issue and no 
points assigned. On second offense, the available position 
is minused. On third offense dog is scratched. If that rule 
didn’t specify what to do after the first infraction, it would 
be implied that the dog is scratched. But the rules are very 
clear as to what you should do in that situation. 

Some of the situations outlined above admittedly are 
rather minor offenses even on a strictly judged cast. You 
know and I know that at the Forks-Of-The-Creek Coon Club 
this Friday night, at their UKC licensed event, someone will 
get off with only a warning for arriving to a tree before the 
Judge does. But the only way to be consistent with final 
interpretations, if it gets to that level, is to say this. The 
penalty for doing something that the rules specifically state 

cannot be done, in cases where the rules do not offer a 
different specific penalty, is to be scratched from the cast. 
I think that’s about as simple to interpret as we can make it.

Signs Posted
Q: Last weekend I drove a good distance to a club I hadn’t 

been to before. I followed the directions as noted in the 
upcoming events list in the back of Coonhound Bloodlines. 
After following the directions and then looking for signs the 
ad said would be posted, I learned there weren’t any signs 
anywhere and ended up lost. After driving around for a little 
while hoping to find the location, I finally stopped several 
different times asking people in the area before someone 
could tell me where the club was located. Needless to say, 
I missed the deadline by ten minutes. It was frustrating to 
deal with this issue, especially when I had allowed plenty of 
time to get there if signs would have been posted as the ad 
stated. From experience, I can tell you it is frustrating when 
you can’t rely on the directions given especially when you 
drove as far as I did on this particular night. 

A: This is a good example of why it is important to have 
good directions for participants to find a club’s location. 
And while it is a rare occurrence in the day of GPS systems, 
it’s not entirely uncommon to get a handful of calls a year, 
from people frustrated with a club’s directions. Let’s be 
honest with ourselves for a minute, most of these clubs 
are in the middle of nowhere and that GPS isn’t always 
dependable. 

It is true that a lot of clubs give directions that will get 
you fairly close, followed by “Signs posted”. That is fine 
and dandy so long as signs are, in fact, posted. Most of 
the regulars obviously don’t need directions, but clubs 
need to also not forget the fact that usually they will have 
a few participants who might not be regulars or may be 
first timers who need to rely on the directions and GPS 
coordinates that we post in the magazine and on the online 
events calendar. 

We encourage clubs to make sure you are aware of the 
directions that have been submitted to UKC for your event 
location, and that they are accurate and easy to follow. If 
your directions say signs will be posted, then make sure 
they are posted. Otherwise, you may end up with would-
be participants who get lost and miss the deadline because 
of poor directions. You certainly can’t blame someone for 
being frustrated when they miss a deadline because of it. 

Competition: Coonhound Advisor


