About UKC

Field Operations

Show Operations




Contact Us

Time Out/End of Hunt, All Dogs Declared Treed and Now you do. Now you don’t.
Posted on 03/12/2005 in The Coonhound Advisor.

Share this page on Facebook! Email this article to a friend!  RSS Feed!     Print this article:     Print this article!

March advisor
Allen Gingerich

As expected with the few new rule changes for 2005/2006, the most frequently asked questions as of late pertain to the stationary rule. The first Q and A this month covers a few of these “what if” questions.

Time Out/End of Hunt
My question is, does’ time out and / or the end of the hunt stop the five on the stationary rule? I’m assuming it doesn’t. However it does not seem fair to apply the stationary rule on a dog when there is less than five minutes left in hunt time. What is the official stance on this?

Answer: Let’s start with time out situations. For instance the Judge has applied the stationary rule on a dog A. Two dogs on the cast are trailing and are in danger of getting close to a busy highway. The handlers of these two dogs say time should be called so they can handle their dogs before they get to close too the highway. Majority of the cast votes to call time. Here’s where the question comes into play. Should the stationary rule now be lifted on dog A?

The answer is yes. The stationary would be lifted on dog A and all dogs would be handled. The last paragraph in Rule 8 states, [if time out is called then time is out, and if dog should tree, it would not count except in accordance with 6(k).] Since we mentioned rule 6(k), just so you won’t need to get out of you’re lazy chair and grab a rulebook. [ In Nite Champion or Grand Nite Champion casts, dog is scratched for running, treeing or molesting off game during the authority of the Judge.] The other thing to remember here is Rule 8(h) which states [dogs declared treed before time is called will be scored.]

The other part of the question was, should the stationary rule 6(q) be applied when there are less than five minutes left in hunt time?

As most of you probably guessed, no you would not apply 6(q). The rule states “if handler fails to call a dog obviously treeing (Judges decision) for a period of five minutes.” According to your scenario, there is not a period of five minutes left in hunt time so you would not apply 6(q).

Let’s keep in mind to use common sense with the stationary rule. It is basically a rule to score dogs for what they do during hunt time. We have received quite a few more of these “what if” questions but so as not to confuse everyone with a whole bunch of different scenarios, we will save some of them for a future advisor.

All Dogs Declared Treed
Recently I was a participant on a cast of four dogs. Dogs A, B, C and D were struck. All the dogs were declared treed. This all happened very quickly. We had just started towards the dogs when the Judge told me my dog (dog A) left the tree and minused my first tree points. When my dog took the tree minus we had only used two and a half minutes at the most on the five. We went to the tree and the Judge told everyone to handle their dogs. We had just started shining the tree and my dog came in to the tree. We found a coon and so I got my strike points minused also. I feel I should have had the opportunity to re-tree my dog after he left since we had not used the whole five minutes. Was this the proper way to score my dog?

Answer: I would have to say yes, the Judge scored it right. The reason you could not wait and tree you’re dog back in is because all dogs were already declared treed at this particular tree. If you refer to rule 4(c) the last sentence states [If dog returns to tree within five minutes he will receive next available position on tree, unless all dogs have been declared treed.] In you’re case, the latter part of this rule justifies the Judges ruling.

All dogs had been declared treed before you’re dog was minused for leaving. After all dogs have been declared treed, the tree is considered closed and no other dogs may be treed.

Now you do. Now you don’t.
Here’s my question. I drew out in a cast and my hound got away from the rest of the cast. Their dogs had pulled up on a tree. My dog followed the track out and kept going with it. My hound got almost out of hearing when I called him treed. (You could just barely hear him.) Now since they had not turned loose before I treed my dog, they had to keep their dogs on the lead. On the way to my dog we walked through a gully. With the wind and being below the tree line you could not hear my dog treeing anymore. The Judge put the two minutes on him. I asked the Judge to walk up to the top of the hill but they told me no. The two minutes expired and we had not heard my dog so he took a minus. Shouldn’t I have been allowed to walk up to the top of the hill before the two minutes was started? After the two got him we walked to the top of the hill and he was still treed. I re-treed my dog and walked into him after the five was up. It looked like he had been there for quite a while. Thanks for you’re time.

Answer: Good question. You should not put the two minutes on a dog if it is not reasonable that you should be able to hear the dog. Sounds like the cast should have walked to the top of the hill before stopping to listen for the dog. Depending on the severity of the terrain, the rest of the cast may make a good argument that you would have been able to hear the dog. You need to use good judgement because you wouldn’t want someone walking you around all night listening for a dog that wasn’t opening on track but claiming that it was because of the terrain.

Fortunately, I don’t have a whole lot of experience hunting mountains or gullies. Hunting in southern Michigan is like hunting on a huge golf course! (It’s a tough gig but somebody’s got to keep the coon population in check around here!)