Puppy Papers Reminder
Posted on 06/04/2012 in The Coonhound Advisor.
Advisor Article – April'12
Puppy Papers Reminder
For some reason, we continue to receive event reports where the dog is not yet permanently registered. Not many, but some. Usually, we find the owners think because they can now enter the dog as Conditional that they can also enter a dog that is not yet permanently registered. That is not the case at all. A dog must be permanently registered before it may be entered in an event. Otherwise, the dog is considered to be an ineligible entry, and cannot be awarded any Championship points. Simply because an owner may have mailed puppy papers off to UKC for the dog to be permanently registered does not make the dog eligible for an event or to be entered as Conditional. In the event where puppy papers have been mailed to UKC, owners are encouraged to contact the UKC Registration Department to find out if the papers have been processed (dog permanently registered) before entering it in an event.
Deadline to Return Not Noted On Scorecard
Q: The other night at a UKC event, the Master of Hounds read off the checklist before calling out casts like he always does. He noted the deadline to return the scorecards and all that good stuff. However, here’s where the problem lies. He failed to write the deadline to return on the scorecard. That deadline wasn’t posted at the clubhouse either. Of course, one cast comes back late and now saying they thought the deadline was different from what was announced. Should this card have been accepted considering the circumstances?
A: First off, all officials are prone to making mistakes just like the next guy, and I think we should give the MOH a break on this one. I doubt he’ll forget to note it at his next ten events. Truth is, this isn’t the first time this has happened, nor will it be the last, but the specific scenario given is also a good example of what you might very well expect to run into when the time deadline is not noted.
Nonetheless, the time not being noted on the scorecard does not change the fact that the scorecard must be returned no later than the deadline announced by the official. Looking for technicalities after the fact when the card wasn’t returned in time shouldn’t be considered. In other words, put at least a little responsibility on the part of judges and handlers to find out what that deadline is, when it is unclear or not noted. In my experience it’s never been a problem to find out if that was the case.
Re-scoring a Caught Coon
Q: Dogs A, B and C catch a coon on the ground, while Dog D is off trailing in a different direction. The handlers get the dogs off the coon and score them accordingly. Ten minutes later, Dog D comes back to that same area and also gets on that same coon. This took place merely 20 yards from where the other dogs had caught it originally so it was quite obvious it was the same coon. Can Dog D also score on this same coon?
A: This is one where you’re probably not going to find a specific or proper rule to apply to the situation. We can’t really use the “previously scored tree” rule because it’s not a tree. We’re basically left with using common sense. Common sense tells us we can’t allow any ideas of catching and re-catching coons all night. Common sense also suggests that once that caught coon is scored any other dogs not included in the original scoring of it should not have that opportunity ten minutes later. “Already scored” seems like the only logical and fair way to score the situation.
Next Available Tree Points
Q: In a four-dog cast, Dogs A and B are declared treed. The tree is closed. The cast is a good distance from the tree, so it’s going to take a little while to get to there. Soon Dog C is also heard treeing with them, but can’t be declared treed because the tree is closed. Several more minutes go by, and while the cast is still walking towards the tree, Dog D starts treeing with them also.
Upon arrival, all four dogs are in fact treeing together and are all handled at this tree. The tree has no coon and is scored as a minus tree. We know that Rule 4(g) applies to B and C, but here’s where the question comes in. Because it was obvious that Dog C was treeing at that tree before Dog D came in, do we award Dog C with a third tree position? Or does it not matter, and C and D split their tree points for third and fourth position?
A: Rule 4(g) does not make any provisions for, or suggest, that we determine the order of dogs in which they came in and started treeing on the closed slick tree. Rather, the rule simply states to “split” tree points in the case of two or more dogs that are treeing but not declared treed. In your case, Dogs B and C receive the next available split third and fourth positions, which results in 37˝ points for each dog. Of course, they are also minused their strike positions along with those split tree points.