About UKC

Field Operations

Show Operations




Contact Us

From the Message Board
Posted on 04/12/2005 in The Coonhound Advisor.

Share this page on Facebook! Email this article to a friend!  RSS Feed!     Print this article:     Print this article!

April advisor
Allen Gingerich

There are some interesting questions that pop up on the UKC message board from time to time. The first question was discussed on the board recently and of course with some very strong opinions one way or another!

Q: I was on a four-dog cast but this question only involves one dog. The dog in question is struck in about a half mile from the cast. The dog trails another mile and a half and gets treed. The handler trees the dog and the cast members start walking towards the dog treed. The cast is within a half mile of the dog and she quits treeing. The two minutes is applied and the dog is minused her tree points. The eight minutes is applied and the time gets her on strike as well. The rest of the dogs in the cast aren’t struck in so the cast decides to go back towards the trucks. When the cast gets to the truck the dog in question is in the dog box, the door is shut and we find a note in the front seat! Somebody that knew this dog was hunting in the same area, led her out of the woods, drove down the road and put her in the truck. Should this dog have been minused or can you call interference?

A: Opinions on the message board were anything from, “if this isn’t interference I don’t know what is” to “it’s a bad break and the dog should be minused!” First of all, interference does not appear in the rulebook as an option to use in you’re situation. Rule 8b says you may call time out when other hunters get too close or if dogs get with another group of dogs. There is no mention of other hunters or other dogs getting too close to the cast, so obviously time was not called. The two minutes and then the eight got the dog so it was minused. It’s not until you get back to the truck that you realize something may have happened here. You even find a note on the seat! I guess if the note said there was a coon in the tree we could go ahead and plus it but would that be right? What if the note said it was slick? Would you be willing to take minus because that’s what the note said? I’d dare to bet not! What if the dog actually did leave the tree, never made another bark and was picked up on the road somewhere? The note is nothing more than hearsay. The Judge was not at the tree to see what really happened. The dog was judged according to what she did. In this case she hushed, the two minutes got her and then the eight. We can’t go back and change how we scored the dog after finding her in the truck and reading the note. There are too many things that may or may not have actually happened. Is it a bad break? Yes possibly but I think most of us agree things don’t always go the way we would like them to! It’s like the game of golf, very frustrating at times. For me that’s pretty much all the time!

Q: This question came up recently and according to some folks there are different opinions on moving dogs up on tree and when not to. Lets throw a few different scenario’s out here.

Scenario 1: Dogs A, B, C and D are declared treed in that order. When you get to the tree you see the dogs are on two separate trees. Let’s say dogs A and C are treed together and dogs B and D are treed on a separate tree. How do we score all the dogs on the two trees?

A: Ok, obviously dog A will get 125. Dog C was treed third for 50. Dog B was treed second for 75 but dog B is not on this tree, therefore second tree is available and we would move dog C up to second tree for 75. Although dog B was treed second, he was the first dog on the separate tree so he moves up to 125. Dog D was treed last but is with dog B and will be moved up to second tree.

Scenario 2: Dogs A and B are declared treed. The five is running. Dog B leaves the tree and is minused. A minute later dog C is declared treed with dog A. Before the five is up dog D is also declared treed. Tree is closed, dog B is still running.

A: Dog A will get 125, dog B was minused before dog C was declared treed so second tree becomes available again. Dog C will get second tree and dog D would get third tree.

Scenario 3: Dogs A, B, C and D are declared treed in that order. When you get to the tree, dog B is not at the tree and is minused. Should dog C and D move up?

A: No they should not. C and D stay at third and fourth tree. Dog B was not minused until all dogs were declared treed, therefore second tree did not become available before dog C and D were declared treed so they cannot move up.

Q: The clock on the wall at the club says 7:58 but the official at the event is using his cell phone, which says 8:00. Which one should be the official time?

A: Now days everyone is carrying a cell phone and of course they reflect actual time. Even though the clock at the club might be off a little, it should still be used as the official time for the event. It would be in everybody’s best interest to use the clock that can be seen by all. The official at the club should check the time on the clubs clock when he first gets there. If the time is off, the official should bring it to the attention of the club officers. The next question is what if the club doesn’t have a clock? Well I think we would all agree there’s no good excuse for that and that should go without saying!